Like Follow

Pastoral Memory

Awarded Best Meditation Album of 2019 by
New Age Music Guide.

Awarded Best Ambient Album of 2019 by
One World Music Radio.

Pastoral Memory cover art

Track Listing:
1. Rising
2. Thankful
3. Joyful Cleansing
4. Passing Storm
5. Aftermath
6. Yesterday's Dream
7. Counting Stars

Pastoral Memory, my first soundscape release, began as a quest to record nature sounds. I set up a pair of mics to record the joyful birds singing in my yard one fine August morning, and before I knew it, I’d amassed quite a library of birds, crickets, cicadas, streams, and rainstorms. The calming nature recordings influenced the instrumentation that would follow: swirling synth pads, kalimbas, chimes, wooden flutes, harps, voices and eventually, many layers of hypnotic acoustic and electric guitars.

Most of the melodies featured on Pastoral Memory began as improvisations, which is my preferred method of working. The soothing electric sitar melody which fades off into the distance to close out “Counting Stars” was one such improvisation, as was the majestic kalimba melody in “Aftermath”. Once I’d discovered these melodies, I created supporting counter melodies and harmonies to complement them. Accidental interplay came bubbling up each time a new layer was added to the mix.

After many dead ends, and several finished ideas that just didn’t hold up, I arrived at the progression of music you are about to experience. It was only during the final assembly of the album that I began imagining an aural journey through a peaceful summer day. After six years of work, the album had revealed itself to me, and will hopefully reveal itself to you.

Finally, Pastoral Memory is intended to be enjoyed as one long piece. However, for those listeners who may connect with certain sections, I’ve split the album into seven tracks for your convenience.

Whether you listen to the individual tracks, or the entire album in one sitting, I hope the music helps you relax, escape, meditate, and maybe even sleep better at night.

Happy listening!

Dan Palladino

Composed, Arranged, Performed and Produced by Dan Palladino
Additional percussion by Scott Strunk
Recorded at The Torpedo Room, East Brunswick, NJ
Edited and Mastered by Nicholas Prout for True Sonix, Inc.
Cover painting by elegeyda/Shutterstock

Special thanks to Lynn and Anthony Palladino, Todd Collins, Rick Deardorff, Nick Prout, and Marc Besmanoff for their support and guidance.

© 2019 Dan Palladino

06/13/20 Update: Pastoral Memory has been awarded Best Ambient Album of 2019 by One World Music Radio.
One World Music Radio Best Ambient Album of 2019

03/06/20 Update: Pastoral Memory has been awarded Best Meditation Album of 2019 by New Age Music Guide. New Age Music Guide Best Meditation Album of 2019

01/29/20 Update: Pastoral Memory has reached no. 4 on the One World Music Radio chart for January 2020!

One World Music Radio Chart
Click here to read all about it.

11/4/19 Update: Pastoral Memory has reached no. 1 on the New Age Music Guide chart for October 2019!

New Aga Music Guide Chart
Click here to read all about it.


"Palladino has, without a doubt, delivered one of 2019's finest meditation albums." -- BT Fasmer

Read the full review by BT Fasmer at New Age Music Guide.

"...the best ambient album I have heard for a decade..." -- Steve Sheppard

Read the full review by Steve Sheppard at One World Music Radio.

"Pastoral Memory is a big slice of tranquility and a wonderful escape from all that ails you." -- Dyan Garris

Read the full review by Dyan Garris at Best New Age CDs.

"...a stunning group of tracks brilliantly composed and exercised by Dan Palladino." -- Keith Hannaleck

Read the full review by Keith Hannaleck at New Age Music Reviews.


• Photos in header above by Dan Komoda, except "Blue Guitar Close-up", by Matthew Krautheim

See what Dan is up to now

CURRENT RELEASE: Single ambient track "Leaving Cygnus" released on 8.31.20.
Read all about it here.

Released in 2019: Pastoral Memory. Awarded Best Meditation Album by New Age Music Guide and Best Ambient Album by One World Music Radio.

Released in March of 2020: One Minute Wonders of the World, a project conceived by Paul Landry of New Age Music Planet. 23 composers contributed one minute of music each, to create the Corona Concerto. My piece begins at 9:43, but the entire piece is a very entertaining listen. --DP

Released in 2019. Dan Palladino: electric guitars on "Butterfly", "Must Have Been", "Kumbaya (Hunt)"

Released in 2018. Lead vocals and guitar by Dan Palladino: